Elevators in Valparaiso.
Because of the steepness of the
hills, many of the surrounding areas of the city are inaccessible by
public transportation. That is why theelevators serve the function of
communicating to the top of the city with the plan, in addition to being
strong tourist references. The first elevator was built in Cerro
Concepción in 1883 and was steam. The Cerro Cordillera elevator was
built in 1887.
Valparaiso has currently declared with 15 lifts
Landmarks by the National Monuments Council. Five are municipal property
and the remaining belong to four private companies. The elevators are
elevators municipal Baron (detained for work), Polanco, El Peral, Queen
Victoria, and St. Augustine (detained for jobs).
Owned by the
National Company SA Lifts are elevators Florida, Butterflies and Nuns.
For its part, belong to the Society of Mechanical Lifts lifts Valparaiso
Artillery , Cordillera and Conception, while Valparaíso Elevators
Company SA owns the elevators Larrain, Holy Spirit and Villaseca
(stopped for repairs). Finally, the Company's Cerro Elevators Ltd. owns
Dairy Milk Elevator (stopped by a fire).
Trolley Pullman moving through the streets of Valparaiso
means of public transport is the trolleybus , popularly known as
trolley , electric vehicles, built on the former Pullman-Standard
Company Unidos.Comenzaron States to serve with great pomp on December
31, 1952, five years later than in Santiago. This date was highly
anticipated by locals, as it was the day we were leaving the old
electric tram service, with the same joy that they had received in 1903
when it replaced the blood carts which were pulled by Percheron horses
and strong the rails resting on the cobblestones.
In the early 1990s
were purchased in Switzerland articulated trolleybuses used the
manufacture dates between 1965 and