About Camatagua

Camatagua is a town in the state of Aragua, Venezuela. It is the shire town of the Camatagua Municipality. It was originally founded in 1693 (as Purísima Concepción de Camatagua), as a settlement of indigenous people. It was refounded in 1716 by more than 30 families of the Guaiquerí.

The Camatagua Municipality is one of the 18 municipalities(municipios) that makes up the Venezuelan state of Aragua and, according to a 2007 population estimate by the National Institute of Statistics of Venezuela, the municipality has a population of 17,674. The town of Camatagua is the shire town of the Camatagua Municipality