History of Fuji

In the Edo period, the T?kaid? passed through the area that is now Fuji, with a post station at Yoshiwara-juku. During the Edo period, the area was mostly tenry? territory under direct control of the Tokugawa shogunate. During the cadastral reform of the early Meiji period in 1889, the area was reorganized into the town of Yoshiwara and the villages of Shimada Denb?, Imaizumi Motoyoshiwara, Sudo ,Yoshinaga Harada ?buchi Kajima Tagoura Iwamatsu and Takaoka within Fuji District.

Kajima became the town of Fuji on August 1, 1929. Neighboring Takaoka was elevated to town status on January 1, 1933. Shimada merged into Yoshiwara in 1940, Denb? in 1941, and Imaizumi in 1942. Yoshiwara was elevated to city status on April 1, 1948, the city expanded through annexation of Motoyoshiwara, Sudo, Yoshinaga, and Harada villages in 1955 and ?buchi in 1956.

Tagoura and Iwamatsu merged with Fuji to form the city of Fuji on March 31, 1954. The city expanded through annexation of neighboring Ukijima and San area from Hara, Sunt? District in 1956.

On November 1, 1966, Fuji and Yoshiwara merged with Takaoka to form the new city of Fuji, which attained the status of a Special City on April 1, 2001 with greater autonomy from the central government.

On November 1, 2008, Fujikawa, Ihara District merged with Fuji