About Ciego de Avila

Ciego de �vila is a city in the central part of Cuba and the capital of Ciego de �vila Province. The city has a population of about 86,100.

Ciego de �vila lies on the Carretera Central highway and on a major railroad. Its port, J�caro, lies 24 km (15 mi) south-southwest on the coast of the Gulf of Ana Maria in the Caribbean Sea. The city is located about 460 km (290 mi) east of Havana and 110 km (68 mi) west of the city of Camag�ey. It was part of the Camag�ey province until 1976, when Fidel Castro's government made Ciego de �vila the capital of the newly created Ciego de �vila Province.

By 1945, the municipality was divided into the barrios of Angel Castillo, Ceballos, Guanales, Jag�eyal, Jicotea, Jos� Miguel G�mez, J�caro, La Ceiba, Majagua, Norte, San Nicol�s and Sur. After the new political and administrative division of Cuba in 1976, it was divided into four municipalities (Majagua, Ciego de �vila, Baragua and Venezuela)