About Las Tunas

Las Tunas is one of the provinces of Cuba. Major towns include Puerto Padre and Amancio, as well as the capital, Victoria de Las Tunas (sometimes known as Las Tunas, or even just Tuna).

The Las Tunas province was established in 1976, when it was split from the 'Oriente Province.

The southern coast, which opens onto the Gulf of Guacanayabo, is marshy and characterised by mangroves. This wet area is used to grow sugarcane, as the wet climate is well suited for the crop.

Cattle are also grazed in the province, which was, until 1975, part of the Oriente province that was divided into five smaller provinces by the Cuban government. Victoria de Las Tunas was just a small market town until that year, and a large development program was started to modernise the town and connect it by road to Havana. In 2004, the province of Las Tunas had a population of 529,850. With a total area of 6,587.75 km (2,543.54 sq mi), the province had a population density of 80.4 /km (208 /sq mi)