TravelTill

History of El Calvario



The Municipality of El Calvario was founded in 1911 by the French Father Juan Bautista de Arnaud who belonged to the religious community Monfortiana and subsequent migration of settler families from Choachí, Cáqueza, Fosca, Junín and Ubaque who contribute to build the village after Construction of the first church founded by the French missionary; The current Municipality of Calvary was inscribed in 1916 as township located in Villavicencio (Quartermaster Meta) and declared as municipality in 1945, but officially gets his title in 1955 by the intendant Decree No 182 and ratified by the National
previous12next