TravelTill

History of Bibury



In the Domesday Book (1086), a record of survey done under William the Conqueror, the place is named Becheberie, and it is recorded that the lands and church in Bibury were held by St. Mary's Priory at Worcester, from whom it passed in 1130 to the Abbey of Osney, near Oxford: the Abbey continued to hold it until its dissolution in 1540.

The Church of England parish church of Saint Mary is Saxon with later additions. From AD 1130 until the English Reformation during the sixteenth century, it was a peculier of Osney

previous12next