About Cameron Highlands

The Cameron Highlands is one of Malaysia’s most extensive hill stations. It covers an area of 712 square kilometres (275 sq mi).

To the north, its boundary touches that of Kelantan; to the west, it shares part of its border with Perak.

Situated at the northwestern tip of Pahang, the “Camerons” is approximately 85 kilometres (53 mi) from Ipoh or about 200 kilometres (120 mi) from Kuala Lumpur.

During the day, the temperature seldom rises above 25 °C (77 °F); at night, the temperature can sometimes drop to as low as −0.9 °C (30.4 °F).

The resort has a diverse population of more than 34,000 people. It comprises Malays, Chinese, Indians and other ethnic groups. The literacy rate here is above 88 percent.

The plateau was first developed by the British in the 1920s. It is made up of three sub-districts, namely Ringlet (5,165 hectares (12,760 acres)), Tanah Rata (2,081 hectares (5,140 acres)) and Ulu Telom (63,981 hectares (158,100 acres)). Of the three, Tanah Rata serves as the administrative centre of the region.

In all, the retreat consists of eight neighbourhoods. The three townships are Ringlet, Tanah Rata and Brinchang. The area's five settlements are the Bertam Valley, Kea Farm, Tringkap, Kuala Terla and Kampung Raja. All are nestled at an altitude of more than 1,200 metres (3,900 ft).

The gateways to the highlands are via Kuala Lipis or Raub through Pos Betau to Ringlet. From Perak, it can be accessed either from Tapah or Simpang Pulai. While from Kelantan, route available from Gua Musang to Pulai in Gua Musang to Kampung Raja