About Siaya

Siaya is a town in Nyanza Province of Kenya. It is the capital of Siaya District. It is located 50 kilometres Northwest of Kisumu, the provincial capital. Siaya forms municipal council with population of 41,174, of whom 13,787 are classified urban (1999 census).

Siaya municipality has five wards: Mjini, Siaya Central, Siaya East, Siaya North and Siaya West. All of them are part of Alego Constituency. With the new constitution, it is now also in Siaya County of which it´s also its headquarter