About Shikoku

Shikoku is the smallest (225 km or 139.8 mi long and between 50 and 150 km or 31.1 and 93.2 mi wide) and least populous (4,141,955 as of 2005) of the four main islands of Japan, located south of Honsh? and east of the island of Ky?sh?. Its ancient names include Iyo-no-futana-shima Iyo-shima and Futana-shima . The current name refers to the four former provinces which made up the island: Awa, Tosa, Sanuki, and Iyo