The history of Uhersky Brod (a name which can be loosely translated as the 'Hungarian ford' or 'river crossing to Hungary') can be traced back to the 10th century. In 1272 it had become sufficiently important that, Premysl Otakar II granted it the status of a King's town.
The 16th century was the all too short golden age of the town, which flourished under the lordship of John of Kunovice (Czech: Jan z Kunovic). The townhall and lords' house were built during this time. The good times came to an end at the beginning of the 17th century when the Hungarians started to attack it in a series of invasions.
Later, the German and Jewish communities began to grow and in the 19th century the town was transformed by industrial development, but has managed to retain its character and charm.
World War II brought further invasion and the development of military industries - Česka Zbrojovka, a precision firearms manufacturer, plays a leading role in the region's industry. It also led to the loss of the town's important Jewish community, the striking reminder of which is the highly evocative Jewish cemetery. On July, 22, 2011, unknown persons turned over eight tombstones in the Jewish Cemetery, as what seems to be an anti-Semitic act