About La Plata

La Plata (English: The Silver) is the capital city of the Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina, and of La Plata partido. According to the 2001 census [INDEC], the partido has a population of 574,369 and its metropolitan area has 694,253 inhabitants. The city itself has a population of 186,524.

La Plata was planned and developed to serve as the provincial capital after the city of Buenos Aires was federalized in 1880, and it was officially founded by Governor Dardo Rocha on 19 November 1882. Its construction is fully documented in photographs by Tomás Bradley Sutton. La Plata was renamed Eva Perón City (Ciudad Eva Perón) between 1952 and 1955.

The city is home to two important football (soccer) teams: Estudiantes de La Plata, that play in the first division, and Gimnasia y Esgrima La Plata, currently in second division