The Kodiak Archipelago has been home to the Alutiiq for over 7000 years. In
their language, kadiak
"island". In 1763, the Russian explorer Stephan Glotov discovered the
island, calling it Kad’yak
He was followed by the British captain James Cook fifteen years later, who
first penned "Kodiak" in his journals in 1778.
In 1791, the Russian fur trapper Alexander Baranov moved the post at Three
Saints Bay (established in 1784) to a new site in Saint Paul Harbor,