Clovelly used to be a fishing village and in 1901 had a population of 621.
It is a cluster of largely wattle and daub cottages on the sides of a rocky
cleft; its steep main street descends 400 feet (120 m) to the pier, too steeply
to allow wheeled traffic. Sledges are used for the movement of goods. The
quaint street is lined with houses, a small number of shops, a cafe and a
public house. All Saints' Church, restored in 1866, is late Norman, containing
several monuments to the Cary family, Lords of the Manor for 600 years.
Unusually, the village is still privately owned and has been associated with