During the Meiji period, these two villages were merged and designated as a single municipal entity. The resulting amalgamated name of Ujiyamada represented the merged villages. The name Ujiyamada stood for 66 years and, to people who live in the area, is still synonymous with Ise.
Between 1890 and 1930, two train lines were constructed which are known today as the Kintetsu Yamada Line and the JR Sang? Line. These railways connect Ujiyamada to Osaka, Nagoya, and the rest of Japan and were responsible for a large increase in pilgrims and tourists visiting Ise Grand Shrine.
The renaming phase took some time around the city. For example, it took four years to rename the main JR station in town, Yamada Station, to Ise-shi Station. Some things were never renamed such as Ujiyamada Station, Ise's largest train station, and Ujiyamada High School, Ise's first high school.
• January 1, 1889: Uji and Yamada villages combined; Ujiyamada village is established.
• September 1, 1906: Upgraded to city; Ujiyamada village becomes Ujiyamada city.
• October 12, 1909: First train line to Ujiyamada completed by JNR (Kokutetsu).
• December 20, 1930: Direct service to and from ?saka begins through Kintetsu.
• March 17, 1931: Ujiyamada Station opens.
• July 28, 1945: 93 Twentieth Air Force B-29 bombers drop incendiaries, burning 39% of the city.
• November 20, 1946: Ise-Shima National Park is established.
• January 1, 1955: Ujiyamada city renamed to Ise city and absorbed the villages of Toyohama, Kitahama, Shig?, and Kida. The reason for this change is to avoid the naming confusion with the later-formed cities of Uji in Ky?to Prefecture and the city of Yamada (now the city of Kama) in Fukuoka Prefecture. The name "Ise" was chosen because it already had a