About Nayarit

Nayarit officially Free and Sovereign State of Nayarit (Spanish: Estado Libre y Soberano de Nayarit), is one of the 31 states which, with the Federal District, make up the 32 Federal Entities of Mexico. It is divided in 20 municipalities and its capital city is Tepic.

It is located in Western Mexico. It is bordered by the states of Sinaloa to the northwest, Durango to the north, Zacatecas to the northeast and Jalisco to the south. To the west, Nayarit has a significant share of coastline on the Pacific Ocean.

Besides the mainland, the islands Marias, Isabel, Tres Marietas and Farallón La Peña in the Pacific Ocean are part of its territory.

This article is about the Mexican indigenous group. For the (Aka-)Cora tribe of the Andaman, see Kora people.

The Cora (or Chora) are an indigenous ethnic group of Western Central Mexico that live in the Sierra de Nayarit and in La Mesa de Nayar in the Mexican states of Jalisco and Nayarit. They call themselves náayarite (plural; náayari singular), whence the name of the present day Mexican state of Nayarit. The 2000 Mexican census reported that there were 24,390 persons who were members of Cora speaking households, these being defined as households where at least one parent or elder claim to speak the Cora language. Of these 24 thousand, 67 percent (16,357) were reported to speak Cora, 17 percent were nonspeakers, and the remaining 16 percent were unspecified with regard to their language.

The Cora cultivate maize, beans, and amaranth and they raise some cattle