About Mewat

Mewat district is one of the 21 districts of Haryana state in northern India. The district was carved as the 20th district of Haryana from erstwhile Gurgaon and Hathin Block of Faridabad districts on 4 April 2005. though Hathin Sub Division was shifted to New district Palwal in 2008.It is bounded by Gurgaon district on the north, Rewari district on the west and Faridabad and Palwal districts on the east. Nuh town is the headquarters of this district. The district occupies an area of 1859.61 kmĀ². The district has a population of 10,89,406 (2011 census). Mewat is populated by the Meos, who are agriculturalists