About Wolfsburg

Wolfsburg is an urban district and the sixth largest major city in the Lower Saxony state in the northern half of Germany. It is located on the River Aller northeast of Braunschweig (Brunswick). Wolfsburg is bordered by the districts of Gifhorn and Helmstedt. Germany's capital city, Berlin, is located about 230 kilometers East of Wolfsburg.

The city is famous as the headquarters of the Volkswagen AG, and was one of the few German cities built during the first half of the 20th century. In 1972 the population first exceeded 100,000. From its foundation on 1 July 1938 until 25 May 1945 the city was called "Stadt des KdF-Wagens bei Fallersleben". It was meant to be the domicile for the workers of the Volkswagen factory which should produce the "KdF-Wagen" (VW Beetle)