About Algarrobo

Algarrobo is a Chilean city and commune in San Antonio Province, Valparaíso Region. Located on the country's central coast, it is a popular summer resort for the population of Santiago. It is an upscale community near El Quisco and Valparaíso.

As a commune, Algarrobo is a third-level administrative division of Chile administered by a municipal council, headed by an alcaldewho is directly elected every four years. The 2008-2012 alcalde is Jorge Luis Pizarro Romero. The council has the following members:

*   Hipólito Aravena Escobar. (PDC)

*   Manuel Catalan Aranda. (PDC)

*    Javier Fuentes Torrealba (RN)

*    Luís Núñez Berríos. (RN)

*    Antonieta Sandoval Solís. (PDC)

*    José Yanez Maldonado (Ind.)

Within the electoral divisions of Chile, Algarrobo is represented in the Chamber of Deputies by Mrs. María José Hoffmann (UDI) and Mr. Víctor Torres (PDC) as part of the 15th electoral district, (together with San Antonio, Santo Domingo, Cartagena, El Tabo, El Quisco and Casablanca). The commune is represented in the Senate by Francisco Chahuán Chahuán (RN) and Ricardo Lagos Weber (PPD) as part of the 6th senatorial constituency (Valparaíso-Coast)