The municipality was founded on December 14, 1655, when it was elevated to
the category of village. Its first urbanization was carried out in 1657.
Jundiaí has borders with Várzea Paulista, Campo Limpo Paulista, Franco da
Rocha, Cajamar, Pirapora do Bom Jesus, Cabreúva, Itupeva, Louveira, Vinhedo,
Itatiba and Jarinu.
The name of the town comes from the Tupi language, and it means the place of
the jundiá ("fish with barbs", the Rhamdia quelen species).
Jundiaí has enjoyed a steep population
growth, in large part